Home Industry News Education ASEV Confirms New President & Board Members

ASEV Confirms New President & Board Members

John Thorngate

The American Society for Enology and Viticulture (ASEV) has confirmed John Thorngate, Vice President of Operations Technical Services at Constellation Brands, as the 2018-2019 president. Thorngate succeeds James Harbertson of Washington State University to lead ASEV’s 12-member board.

“I am honored that I get to serve alongside some of our industry’s leaders who constantly strive to find that balance between high quality science and the fast-paced need for information and change,” said Thorngate. “It is also an honor to advance the work of Jim, Nichola, Mark and our other past presidents, who worked tirelessly to elevate ASEV as the scientific and professional community that it is regarded to be. I hope to further build on their successes by ensuring representation and participation of all our members, whether early career or established, east coast and west coast, all of whom are vital to the Society and to the industry.”

Thorngate has been an ASEV member for 25 years, serving on the board since 2011. Over the years he has served on multiple committees including the publications committee, technical liaison committee, early career member committee, technical program committee, and chaired several symposia, including those honoring Dr. Ann Noble and Dr. Vernon Singleton. He’s also chaired the program development committee for the Unified Wine & Grape Symposium.

He’s a member of the American Chemical Society and the Australian Society of Viticulture and Oenology and serves on the FIVS Scientific and Technical Committee and the Wine Institute’s Technical Advisory Committee.

ASEV has also confirmed Torey Arvik, Chief Science Officer of Sonomaceuticals/WholeVine Products, California, and Michelle Moyer, Associate Professor and Extension Viticulturist at Washington State University, Prosser, Washington, as new board directors. Immediate past president James Harbertson of Washington State University will continue to serve on the board as the technical program director.  In addition to John Thorngate, the board’s Executive Committee for 2018-2019 includes: Kristen Barnhisel, winemaker, white wines, at J. Lohr Vineyards & Wines, California, first vice president; Patty Skinkis, associate professor at Oregon State University, Corvallis, second vice president; and Tom Collins, assistant professor at the Wine Science Center, Washington State University, Tri-Cities, secretary-treasurer.  Additional Board members continuing current terms are: ASEV Science Editor Markus Keller of Washington State University, Prosser; Directors Anita Oberholster from the University of California, Davis; Merilark Padgett-Johnson of the Natural Resources Department, Santa Rosa Junior College, California; R. Keith Striegler of E. & J. Gallo Winery, California, and Hans Walter-Peterson of Cornell Cooperative Extension, New York. For a full list, go to http://www.asev.org/board-directors-staff.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *